Five Things: Potluck

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve done a Monday Five Things! So let me catch you up on the five first takeaway’s that come to mind…

ONE: I am so thrilled that the weather is getting nice again here in Virginia! My husband and I have even been fishing several times over the past few weeks. Although I still think it’s a little too cold for the fish, we have had the best time outside. Whether it’s fishing on an evening or weekend we don’t have the kids, or playing on the playground when we have them, we have loved every minute of this weather! Hello, Spring!

TWO: I cannot say these words enough… comparison is the thief of joy! Y’all, do me a favor… Remember that social media is just the highlight reel. Remember that everyone is going through or has gone through something unfavorable. I see people complain when others look “too happy” on social media, and I also see people complain when others “vent too much” on it. Personally, I’m a highlight reel sort of millennial, but cut everyone [including yourself] a break! Focus on yourself… Stop making comparisons.

1

THREE: The debate over where our oldest will [hopefully] start Kindergarten is still ongoing. There were a few days just over a week ago where BM was super high-conflict about it, and then as soon as my husband offered to compromise to give her what she wants, we never heard from her again (like… not even to agree or disagree to the compromise). Those who have kids can tell you that whenever someone is silent, they’re typically up to no good… This could get interesting.

FOUR: We are planning a beach vacation for a week in June and it is almost all I think about. I grew up going to the beach multiple times every summer. Even through college, I made it to the beach at least 2-3 times a year. Now, I haven’t been to the beach since May 2012, my “beach week” when I finished undergrad. Y’all… it’s been almost five years since I’ve been to the beach! The only thing better than the fact that I’m getting my ass on the beach, is the fact that I get to be there with my husband and our girls. *Currently online shopping for Mom-kini’s suitable for chasing toddlers around*

FIVE: My car got hit at work in the parking lot… classic hit and run. Luckily, my husband can literally do everything, so he fixed it and made it look brand new! *Drool* (Drooling about my husband, not the car) Then a week later, my work best friend CML almost hit my car! She confessed (good friend- pat on the back) but if it had of got messy, we definitely would have had a Friend Breakup. (RIP to those best friends I’ve broken up with in the past) (Pour one out for the fallen homies) Moral of this story: My car and my friendship are still in tact, thank God.

Life is a wild ride sometimes! Never miss an opportunity to reflect, recharge, and count your blessings.

Leave a Reply

