Kanye’s Workout Plan

I know I just wrote about how life doesn’t always go as planned, and how you constantly have to recreate your “Happily Ever After” … but there’s nothing like Facebook’s “On This Day” feature to get me in my feels…

Today, Facebook showed me a video from 2 years ago. I was in the gym, back squatting 215# for 3 reps (there was more going on… that was just what the video captured). I had my old gym partner spotting me. Those were the days! I was in the best shape of my life. I was so happy, because I felt great! I was working out 4-6 days a week, and I felt so healthy and so strong. I loved it. Absolutely loved it.

I remember those days like it was yesterday. My CrossFit days. I loved CrossFit. This July, it will be 2 years since I quit CrossFit due to a move. When I moved for a job, the CrossFit gym in the area was sub-par, and I was so discouraged because I didn’t have “my people” there with me. I went once and then never went back. I only lived in that place for 10 months before again changing jobs and moving back.

I could have rejoined my old CrossFit gym, but I didn’t want to. That was my old life. The girls I always worked out with had continued going while I was away, and had now way surpassed my abilities. I could have joined a new CrossFit, or a new “regular” gym, but I didn’t want to start all over again. Be the “out of shape” girl. Start from scratch. Y’all remember when you first start out at a gym, right?! Talk about the worst feeling ever…

When I was at my peak with CrossFit, I was in grad school. I had the time to dedicate to it. I do not have that type of time now! I’m married, working full-time, with two kids! I can’t possibly take time away from them to go to the gym. I don’t even want to do that! I want to spend every second I’m not at work with my family.

So what do I do? What do I do when Facebook has now reminded me how incredible I once felt, all because I worked out regularly. People, I’m going on two years of barely any workouts. I can’t get back into it now!! *Dramatic Ashley* Watching that video and reminiscing about how I used to feel has me feeling like a legit sack of potatoes in this chair as I write this.

I want to start working out with my husband on the days we don’t have the kids… I think that would be a good start. We talk about it all the time but it never happens. We are so tired when we get home from work! *Excuses, excuses*

I don’t know what I’m going to do. But I can tell you that I need to get back in shape, even if it’s not as in-shape as I once was. I need to get my body back together, because I felt so much better when I was in shape! This is important. Maybe this post will make me feel held accountable. Maybe my husband will read this post and think, “She’s right! We need to work out!” Who knows. What I do know is, I owe it to myself to get back into it. I need this.

Leave a Reply

