A Loss.

This week has been a tough one. My boyfriend’s Doberman “fainted” a few times last week, but quickly recovered. Three days ago, he really fell out and we rushed him to the emergency vet. It was discovered he had dialated cardiomyopathy (DCM), a hereditary, “rapidly fatal” heart disease that 55% of Doberman’s get.

“Rapidly fatal” … They weren’t kidding! Sunday night was ER and diagnosis, Tuesday night (last night) we put him down. He really went that downhill that fast. Absolutely devastating. He was only 6 years old, and my boyfriend had gotten him when he was only 8 weeks. Devastating.

I can’t relive the details of last night on here, but what I wanted to write about is how this has really messed me up. This event really made me realize [okay, reaffirmed for me that] I have some sort of attachment or commitment issues. Perhaps it’s because of my upbringing? I haven’t really had much stability in my life, I get that. But WOW this was tough. I’ve gone off the deep end of “I’ll never get a pet again… thank God I’m never having kids… etc.” I’m not sure that is a normal reaction. What I can tell you is that 24-hours later, I understand that I can’t equate this incident to “everyone in my life leaves.” That’s not a fair comparison, and that’s not even true, honestly.

I can also tell you [again] how incredible my boyfriend is. Not only is he THE best, most hands-on father in the world, he also was the most incredible dog owner to that pup. They really were best friends. I will continue to grieve this loss for my boyfriend. I will also continue to be thankful for a partner who shows me unconditional love and support. We’ve been through quite a few “big events” in our time together, and with each one we grow closer and stronger than ever before. He’s the first person to ever give me true hope that I could have a truly healthy and happy “forever” with someone.

Hold your pets close tonight, and for those of you in a truly strong and healthy relationship, thank your partner for everything they do.

12565618_225460957789755_3193857684816767491_n
Rest easy, buddy ❤
3 thoughts on “A Loss.”

  1. So sorry for your loss. Dobermans are fantastic dogs and its very sad to see them live such short lives due to these medical issues. I had a mental breakdown when my Standard Poodle of 15 years died. She was a scientific miracle (and I try not to laugh when I say it but its true…), living with serious epilepsy that almost killed her at age 1. The vet told us she wouldn’t make it through the night. She is the reason why my faith is iron clad . I hope you and your boyfriend heal from this loss knowing you gave her/him everything you could to help her through this. For dogs, your is love is enough 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. It is so hard to lose a loved one. They are never ‘just pets.’ I have written about this before. Not a directly after the moment post, but a year after. https://13ahamoments.com/2016/09/13/from-one-to-the-other/
    The best thing about them is their unconditional love. Cling to your loved ones during this time and grow together. Remember all the good memories and celebrate his life. I bet you will find you can not go without another one for very long.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

